Ad image

Rwanda Cycling Team In Gabon For La Tropicale Amissa Bongo

2 Min Read

Team Rwanda cycling team has already arrived Gabon in West Africa to participate in the highly competitive cycling tournament on the continent known as La Tropicale Amissa Bongo.

A six-man strong team will peddle a long 856.0 km distance carrying the Rwandan flag in this 15th edition of La Tropicale Amissa Bongo. The race consists of only a men’s competition, a race run over seven stages. The race is named in honor of Albertine Amissa Bongo.

But why six-man team? According to the rules, article 2-2.012 of the UCI, the team should be composed of a minimum of 4 riders and a maximum of 6 runners.

Rwanda’s Munyaneza Didier is the man to watch – he is highly ranked in 8th position among the top performers if the ten previous edition.

From Monday 20th to Sunday 26th January the Rwandan team composed of Moise Mugisha, Renus Byiza Uhirirwe, Jean Claude Nzafashwanayo, Joseph Areruya, Samuel Mugisha (team captain) and Munyaneza Didier will show Rwanda’s power in the race. These are the men in Yellow, Blue and Green coloured Jersey that will show muscle on the peddle .

Indeed in 2018, Rwanda won the La Tropicale Amissa Bongo. This years edition is Rwanda’s 9th time taking part in the prestigious and highly competitive race of the UCI-tour.

Rwanda offers excellent training to these athletes owed to the country’s high altitude, steep hills, sharp corners and slopes on smooth tarmac throughout the territory. Rwandan cyclists will be waiting to showcase their cycling prowess and skills gained back home.

Competing teams include;

  1. Team Total Direct Energie (Gaudin, Manzin)
  2. Gabon (Ngandamba, Ndong-Beyeme)
  3. Cofidis, Solutions Crédits (Berhane, Périchon)
  4. Eritrea (Debesay, Tesfom)
  5. NIPPO DELKO One Provence (Navardauskas, Jules)
  6. Rwanda (Areruya, Munyaneza)
  7. BAI – Sicasal – Petro de Luanda (Oyarzún, António)
  8. Algeria (Reguigui, Lagab)
  9. ProTouch (Julius, Basson)
  10. Morocco (El Kouraji, Bdadou)
  11. Natura4Ever – Roubaix Lille Métropole (Antomarchi, Vermeulen)
  12. Burkina Faso (Sorgho, Nikiéma)
  13. Dukla Banska Bystrica (Tybor, Čanecký)
  14. Cameroon (Kamzong, Mba)
  15. Ivory Coast (Cissé, Sanogo)