Ad image

Reshuffle: Kagame Shakes Government, Makes Big Replacements

4 Min Read

President Kagame has appointed Senator Dr. Richard Sezibera to replace outgoing Foreign Affairs Minister Louise Mushikiwabo who was recently elected head of the Francophonie Organisation, IOF.

The President also appointed a new Defence Minister, Major General Albert Murasira, replacing General James Kabarebe, who was appointed as Senior Defense and Security Advisor in the Office of the President.

The Deputy Inspector General of Police has been elevated while his former IGP Emmanuel .K Gasana appointed Governor of the Southern Province.

The new IGP is deputised by CP NTAMUHORANYE Felix in charge of Operations and MARIZAMUNDA Juvenal Deputy Inspector General of Police in charge of Administration and Personnel.

Col (Rtd) Anaclet KALIBATA who has been running the Immigration and Emigration for long is transferred to the National Intelligence and Security Services (NISS).

The new Director General of Immigration and Emigration is Lieutenant Colonel Regis GATARAYIHA.

Another surprising appointment is that of former infrastructure Minister James Musoni who has been appointed the Amabassador of Rwanda to Zimbabwe. He had been dropped out of cabinet recently.

Prof. Anastase Shyaka replaces Francis Kaboneka as Minister of Minister of Local Government. Prof Shyaka was CEO for Rwanda Governance Board.

Trade and Industry Minister is now Soraya Hakuziyaremye, replacing Vincent Munyeshaya.

Minister of ICT and Innovation is Paula Ingabire.

Minister of Gender and Family Promotion is now Solina Nyirahabimana.

Nyirasafari Esperence replaces Julien Uwacu as Minister of Sports and Culture.

Kamayirese Germaine appointed Minister in Charge of Emergency Management.

Judith UWIZEYE is still Minister in the Office of the President while Marie Solange KAYISIRE is Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister in charge of Cabinet Affairs.

Dr. Uzziel NDAGIJIMANA retains his job as Minister of Finance and Economic Planning Amb. Claver Gatete maintains his portfolio as Minister of Infrastructure as well as Dr. Vincent Biruta for Minister of Environment, and remains the only Minister who has served longer in cabinet than the rest.

Minister of Agriculture and Animal Resources remains MUKESHIMANA Geraldine while Dr. MUTIMURA Eugene retains Education portfolio.

MBABAZI Rosemary also remains Minister of Youth, Johnston for Minister of Justice and Attorney General and RWANYINDO KAYIRANGWA Fanfan as Minister of Public Service and Labour.

Health Minister is still Dr. GASHUMBA Diane while Dr. MUKABARAMBA Alvera continues as Minister of State in charge of Social Affairs.

Dr. UWERA Claudine has still holds her job as Minister of State in charge of Economic Planning same as UWIZEYIMANA Evode for Minister of State in charge of Constitutional and Legal Affairs.

Dr. MUNYAKAZI Isaac is still Minister of State in charge of Primary and Secondary Education while Dr. NDIMUBANZI Patrick is still Minister of State in charge of Primary Healthcare.

UWIHANGANYE Jean de Dieu is still Minister of State in charge of Transport and NDUHUNGIREHE Olivier Minister of State in charge of the East African Community.

MUKAZAYIRE Nelly is the new CEO Rwanda Convention Bureau.

MUSABYIMANA Jean Claude is Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture and Animal Resources and IRERE Claudette is in the same position for the Ministry of ICT and Innovation.

Richard Tushabe has left Rwanda Revenue Authority and is now Director General Rwanda Social Security Board (RSSB), deputised by

RWANKUNDA Christian in charge of Funds Management.

The new taxman is BIZIMANA RUGANINTWALI Pascal deputised by KANYANGEYO Agnes.