Kagame Swears-In New MPs



Members of the Fourth Parliament (2018-2013) took oath before President Paul Kagame this Wednesday, September 19, 2018.

A lot is expected from the new parliament.

The new chamber of deputies is as usual expected to watch over the the implementation of government policies, short of which they will be under pressure to deliver.

The new parliament is the first to have, in its composition, all legal political parties operating in Rwanda including the two opposition parties. This means that there will be diversity in views in parliament.

Who makes the new house? 

The house has the youngest MP in Rwanda’s history, Clarisse Imaniriho at 23 years.

The second youngest MP is Ernest Kamanzi, 28 also representing the youth.

The oldest Member of Parliamentis Logan Ndahiro, 68, (RPF) is a retired RPA captain.
Among 80 MPs, 37 are returning in the house, while 43 are new parliamentarians.

Out of the 80 members, 37 are hold a Bachelors degree while 29 have a Masters Degree.

Three are PhD holders while one has finished the advanced level of secondary studies.

13 Members of the Parliament are lawyers and 12 are Economists.

11 are educationists while 12 have done Governance and Political Science.

Demographically, 36 MPs are between 40 and 50 years while female legislators account for 61.5%, still a world record for the biggest number of women in parliament. The previous parliament had 64% women representation.

The new MPs will officially start their duties on October 5.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2020 Taarifa Rwanda