Taarifa Rwanda

32 Countries Named For FIBA Basketball World Cup In China

The 2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup will be the 18th tournament of the FIBA Basketball World Cup for men’s national basketball teams.

The tournament will be hosted in China from Saturday 31 August to Sunday, 15 September having been rescheduled from 2018 to 2019, becoming the first since 1967 that will not occur in the same year as the FIFA World Cup (which was held the previous year).

The group stage teams have expanded from 24 to 32 teams.

The tournament will also act as a qualification for the 2020 Summer Olympics, which will take the top two teams from each of the Americas and Europe, and the top team from each of Africa, Asia, and Oceania, alongside hosts Japan.

Africa will be represented by five countries these include Angola, Cote d’Ivoire, Nigeria, Senegal, and Tunisia.

Czechia will make its first appearance in the FIBA World Cup, while Poland makes its return to the FIBA Basketball World Cup for the first time since 1967.

Montenegro will make its first appearance as an independent nation after previously being part of Serbia and Montenegro until 2006.

With the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 fast approaching, the 32 participating nations will be looking to fine-tune their execution in the all-action friendly game circuit to arrive in China in top gear.

Yugoslavia and the USA have each been crowned world champions on five occasions, while the Soviet Union has three titles to its name.

The next step on the Road to China 2019 for the 32 qualified teams will be finding out what groups they will play in and who they will face as they do battle to be crowned world champions.

These answers will come on Saturday, March 16, when the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 Draw, presented by Wanda, takes place in Shenzhen, one of the competition’s eight host cities.

FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019

Tournament hosts: China

Africa (5): Angola, Cote d’Ivoire, Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia

Americas (7): Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, USA, Venezuela

Asia (7): Australia, Iran, Japan, Jordan, Korea, New Zealand, Philippines

Europe (12): Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Lithuania, Montenegro, Poland, Russia, Serbia, Spain, Turkey.

Related posts

African Union Commission Calls For More Funding For NEPAD-IPPF

Staff Writer

Why African Youths Are Missing Out On Opportunities In Agriculture

Staff Writer

Interview: The Less Attention Paid To Africa, The Better For Africa-Kagame

Staff Writer