Connect with us

Taarifa Rwanda

Kagame In Canada For G7 Summit


Kagame In Canada For G7 Summit

Rwanda’s President Paul Kagame who is also the Chairperson of the African Union has already arrived in Canada to attend the G7 summit.

The G7 is a group of the world’s top economic powers, which currently includes the U.S., Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, and the United Kingdom.

These countries represent 62% of global net wealth ($280 trillion), 46% of global nominal GDP evaluated at market exchange rates, and 32% of global purchasing-power parity GDP.

Russia was previously part of the countries in this league when it was known as G8 but was expelled in 2014 after its invasion and annexation of Crimea, a province of Ukraine.

Controversy has risen again after US President Donald Trump suggested that Russia should be allowed back into the group.

“You know, whether you like it or not—and it may not be politically correct—but we have a world to run and, in the G7, which used to be the G8, they threw Russia out, ” Trump said before he flew to Canada.

“They should let Russia back in because we should have Russia at the negotiating table,” Trump suggested.

Speaking to reporters at the site of the summit, European Council President Donald Tusk quickly rejected the idea.

“Let’s leave seven as it is. It’s a lucky number,” said Tusk, who is the primary political representative of the European Union.

Meanwhile, Canada’s Prime Minister Justin Trudeau invited Kagame and 15 other world leaders and heads of international organizations to a special outreach session of the G7 Summit on Saturday.

A statement issued by Trudeau’s office noted that these leaders and heads of international organisations will meet with G7 leaders to discuss how to build resilient coasts and communities, share ocean knowledge and science, and support sustainable oceans and fisheries.

Invited leaders include;

Paul Kagame, president of Rwanda and chair of the African Union; Mauricio Macri, president of Argentina and Chair of the G20; Jovenel Moise, president of Haiti and chair of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM); Andrew Holness, prime minister of Jamaica; Uhuru Kenyatta, president of Kenya; Hilda Heine, president of the Marshall Islands; Erna Solberg, prime minister of Norway.

The list also includes; Macky Sall, president of Senegal; Danny Faure, president of Seychelles; Cyril Ramaphosa, president of South Africa; Nguyen Xuan Phuc, prime minister of Vietnam; Christine Lagarde, managing director of the International Monetary Fund; Jose Angel Gurria, secretary-general of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development; Antonio Guterres, secretary-general of the United Nations; and Kristalina Georgieva, chief executive officer of the World Bank.

Continue Reading
Click to comment


More in America

To Top