Connect with us

Taarifa Rwanda

AU Peace & Security Council Briefed On Nuke Free Africa


AU Peace & Security Council Briefed On Nuke Free Africa

The African Union Peace and Security council is currently being updated on Nuclear Energy, Disarmament and Non-Proliferation.

This briefing is being conducted under the theme “The Status of the Treaty and the Universality of Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Africa.”

Russia one of the countries with the highest nuke arsenal has thrown its weight behind Africa’s efforts to keep the continent free from nuclear weapons and any form of their proliferation.

“We reiterated our support to #African efforts towards creating nuclear weapon free zone at @AU_PSD meeting on #Pelindaba Treaty and nuclear disarmament,” Tweeted the Russian Mission in Ethiopia.

Member States have underscored the importance of the #Pelindaba Treaty as a universal instrument, emphasized the necessary use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes (education, health, agriculture etc), stressed the need to fully uphold and implement UNSCR 1540…

Smail Chergui the African Union (AU) Commissioner for Peace and Security has ommended the 41 Member States who have ratified the Treaty of and urged remaining states to do same in order to ensure a nuclear weapons-free Africa.

Nigeria assumed a one-month rotational chairmanship of the African Union Peace and Security Council (AU-PSC) for April, 2018.

The AU peace and security council, under the Nigeria’s chairmanship, will focus on addressing the threats posed by nuclear weapons and the imperative of preventing terrorists from accessing them, according to a statement from the Nigeria’s Permanent Mission to AU in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

“Similarly, it will engage on fashioning a comprehensive approach towards the prevention of the ideology of hate, genocide and hate crimes on the continent,” the statement said.

The African Union composed of 55 member states adheres to the United Nations General Assemble resolution 3472 B (XXX) of 11 December 1975, in which it considered nuclear-weapon-free zones one of the most effective means for preventing the proliferation, both horizontal and vertical, of nuclear weapons.

African states are convinced that a nuclear-weapon-free continent zone will constitute an important step towards strengthening the non-proliferation regime, promoting cooperation in the peaceful uses of nuclear energy, promoting general and complete disarmament and enhancing regional and international peace and security.

The Peace and Security Council is the standing decision-making organ of the African Union, which is patterned along the United Nations Security Council to enforce AU decisions, particularly in matters relating to the maintenance of regional and continental peace and security.

Members of the Council are elected by the Assembly of the African Union so as to reflect regional balance within Africa, as well as a variety of other criteria, including capacity to contribute militarily and financially to the Union.

The Council is composed of fifteen (15) countries, of which five are elected to three-year terms, and ten to two-year terms.

The current members of the council are; Angola, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Liberia, Morocco, and Rwanda

Others are; Sierra Leone, Togo, Zimbabwe, Nigeria, Egypt, Kenya, Zambia, and Republic of Congo.

Continue Reading
Click to comment


More in Africa

To Top