Taarifa Rwanda

Rwandan Voted Africa’s Best Cyclist

Rwandan Joseph Areruya, the 2017 Tour du Rwanda winner, emerged Africa’s second best cyclist of the year 2017 losing the award to South African Louis Meintjes.

Louis Meintjes, who rides for UAE Emirates Team, was announced the winner of the award reserved for the African cyclist of the year 2017 by the organisers of La Tropicale Amissa Bongo Tour, considered as the highest ranked cycling competition in Africa.

Meintjes, winner of the award in 2013, was voted by the jury chaired by Bernard Hinault, the five-time winner of the Tour de France and made up of thirty members, including African riders, coaches and leaders, organisers of cycling events on the continent but also specialized journalists from Africa and Europe who follow all the cycling races in Africa.

The African Best cyclist award was initiated in 2012 by Gabonese organisers of Tour La Tropicale Amisa Bong, to encourage the development of African cycling, rewarding the rider of the continent who achieved the best performances of the season and managed by its influence to make known African cycling on the world.

Joseph Areruya, 21 who rode for Rwamagana based Les Amis Sportifs Cycling Club before he joined South Africa’s Dimension Data For Qhubeka, won Tour du Rwanda 2017, an eight days race that covered 819 kilometres, having used 20 hours, 21 minutes and 29 seconds.


  1. Louis MEINTJES (South Africa – UAE Emirates)
    2. Joseph ARERUYA (Rwanda – Dimension Data for Qhubeka)
    3. Merhawi KUDUS (Eritrea – Dimension Data)
    4. Tsgabu GRMAY (Ethiopia – Bahrein-Merida)
    5. Salah Eddine MRAOUNI (Morocco – Kuwait-Cartucho.es)
    6. Willie SMIT (South Africa)
    7. Meron TESHOME (Eritrea – Bike Aid)
    8. Tesfom OKUBAMARIAM (Eritrea – Interpro Cycling Academy)
    9. Ahmed GALDOUNE (Morocco)
    10. Meron ABRAHAM (Eritrea)


2012 : Natnael BERHANE (Eritrea)
2013 : Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)
2014 : Mekseb DEBESAY (Eritrea)
2015 : Daniel TEKLEHAIMANOT (Eritrea)
2016 : Tesfom OKUBAMARIAM (Eritrea)
2017 : Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)

Related posts

Heroes FC And Gasogi United Attain Promotion For First Time To The Rwandan Azam Premier League Season 2019/2020

Ellie Imanishimwe

APR Basket Club Humiliated By New Comer REG Basketball Club

Samson Iradukunda

“I Will Rectify A Few Mistakes – Gor Mahia Coach Oktay

Jerry Muhamudu