Connect with us

Trump Drops Sudan In New Travel Ban


Trump Drops Sudan In New Travel Ban

President Donald Trump on Sunday issued a new travel ban to restrict visitors and immigrants from eight countries that have “inadequate” vetting procedures.

Sudan has been dropped from the proclamation. Trump tweeted that “Making America Safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet.”

This ban will affect travellers from three African countries of Somalia,Libya and Chad. The other countries are North Korea, Venezuela, Syria and Yemen. It will go into effect beginning at 12:01am, on October 18.

However, Iraqi citizens will not be subject to travel prohibitions but will face enhanced scrutiny or vetting.

The announcement comes along a change in visa policy for Rwandans traveling to the United States. The new visa policy will permit them to stay in the U.S for a maximum period of 180 days for Tourism or Business purposes only.

Rwandans who hold dual nationality will however be banned from entering the United States if their other passport is from Syria, Iraq, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia and Yemen.

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment


To Top
%d bloggers like this: