Taarifa Rwanda

African Nations Banned Over Default Of UN Dues

Four African countries have lost voting  rights at the United Nations General Assembly over non – payment of membership dues.

The disclosure by the UN will affect Somalia, Guinea Bissau, the island nations of Sao Tome and Principe and the Comoros.

Somalia which is represented by its Prime Minister, Hassan Ali Khaire at the ongoing is said to be in the region of $2 million.

Last fall, the General Assembly voted for exceptions to the four countries affected by the ban. At the time, it had voted to suspend Libya and Venezuela from voting for the 2016 – 2017 session due to non-payment of dues.

U.N. dues reports indicate are binding on all 193 member states and is calculated according to factors including national income.

Article 19 of the UN Charter stipulates  that  a Member State in arrears in the payment of its dues in an amount that equals or exceeds the contributions due for two preceding years can lose its vote in the General Assembly.

Related posts

History In The Making: Rwanda To Host Extraordinary Summit On Continental Free Trade Area

Ellie Imanishimwe

Interview: Julius Malema on Mandela, South Africa-Rwanda Relations And “United Africa”

Frednand Maniraguha

From Aid To Business-The Evolution Of The Africa-Japan Forum Over The Years

Japan Times